First Blog / Excitement Prevails

Hey there, Breeniverse! I don’t know about you guys, but ever since last week’s announcement that lonelygirl15 is set to return with brand new content, I’ve been super excited. How excited?

Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 2.04.20 PM
“I’m Really, Really, Really Excited!”
Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 2.04.37 PM
“I’m Really, Really, Really Excited!”

Well, you tried, YouTube captions.

Before I jump right into it, I should introduce myself. I’m Julia! You may have seen me expressing my excitement over on Twitter these last few days, if you’ve been checking out the LG15 hashtag at all. I first discovered LG15 in the fall of 2008; I’d heard of the whole phenomenon back when it was making the news in 2006, but had never really bothered to look into it any further until then. As a fan of similarly intriguing, mysterious fictional universes such as that of Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events books, I was pretty immediately hooked. At the time, new episodes of LG15: The Resistance were being posted nearly every day, and in between the hours spent watching early LG15 episodes and reading up on the show’s history on LGPedia, I eagerly took in everything that Jonas, Sarah, Reed, and Maggie were getting up to. By the time the season finale rolled around, I was equal parts thrilled and terrified by all that went down in that day’s episodes, and I couldn’t wait to find out what happened next.

As it turned out, I would have to wait – 7.5 years, apparently. But by the time last week’s new video appeared, I’d long since given up hope that I’d ever get any sort of resolution for the Resistance’s cliffhanger. Needless to say, I remain equal parts thrilled and terrified. On the one hand, it looks like we’re finally going to get some answers! But on the other, what if some of those answers are sad?

Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 2.21.06 PM
“What Makes Us Sad?”

Fears about the fates of certain characters aside, I’m basically over the moon about all this. The timing is particularly great for me, since so many of my favourite shows have ended in the last couple of years, and I’m more than ready to throw myself back into an old favourite fandom.

Thats how I wound up here, starting this new blog. I felt like I needed a space where I can talk about all the newest developments in the Breeniverse, and document my thoughts as I rewatch the original series from episode 1, which I started doing the same day the new video came out. I just couldn’t resist.

So if you’re interested in taking this journey with me, check back here soon. And if you’ve got any theories about the new series, feel free to share them in the comments! I’d love to talk with all of you about what’s to come!

Leave a Reply

